menu top


The following Acts, together with Section 64A, Part 2A of the Constitution Act 1934, establish the framework and system and operation of local governing bodies, and statutory authorities established for Local Government purposes. The following Acts are committed to the Minister for Local Government:

Local Government Act 1934
Local Government Act 1999
Local Government (Elections) Act 1999
Local Government (Implementation) Act 1999
Outback Communities (Administration and Management) act 2009
South Australian Local Government Grants Commission Act 1992

The Ministerial functions and powers of the Minister for Local Government under Chapter 11 of the Local Government Act 1999 are conferred on the Minister for Planning.

These Acts and associated regulations can be accessed from the SA Legislation website. This site provides an alphabetical listing of acts and regulations.

Questions and answers about the framework and how councils work in it can be found in How Councils Work - A Guide to the Rules